Share This:

Congratulations to all the companies who walked away with accolades at last Thursday’s 2019 Constructing Excellence Yorkshire and Humber Awards (#CEYH2019). Held at New Dock Hall, part of the Royal Armouries in Leeds, the CEYH2019 Awards brought together the biggest construction firms in the country to recognise and reward the organisations demonstrating best practice in construction over the last twelve months across seventeen different categories, each representing some of the most important issues in the sector.

The standard was extremely high and the judges were once again faced with some very difficult decisions – the calibre of the projects that didn’t win only serving to illustrate the depth of industry talent in our region.

The winners of each category now go on to represent the Yorkshire and Humber region at the National Constructing Excellence Awards in London in Autumn. The CEYH2019 team are sure you will join them in wishing all the organisations the best of luck!

If you are interested in being involved in the 2020 Constructing Excellence Yorkshire and Humber Awards, please contact the organisers, Liz or Donna at the Centre for Knowledge Exchange at the School of Built Environment and Engineering, on 0113 812 1902 or via email to



Integration and Collaborative Working

Sponsored by Esh Construction

Winner: Springwell Leeds SEMH Schools and Interserve. Entry submitted by Interserve Construction.

Highly Commended: Galliford Try JV Syngenta.

Client of the Year

Sponsored by Addleshaw Goddard

Winner: RNN Group, nominated by Bond Bryan.

Health, Safety and Wellbeing

Sponsored by Clarion Solicitors

Winner: A-one+ Area 12 Wellbeing, Improvement, Safety, Health and Environment (WISHES). Entry submitted by A-one+.

Highly Commended: Applebridge Construction.

Value Award

Sponsored by Shulmans

Winner: Springwell Leeds SEMH Schools and Interserve. Entry submitted by Interserve Construction.

Highly Commended: Riverside (SEN) School (Phase 1), Goole. Entry submitted by Faithful+Gould, Geo Houlton and East Riding of Yorkshire Council.

The Offsite Award

Sponsored by PwC UK 

Winner:  Hawthorne Avenue Development in Hull – Offsite Volumetric Housing. Entry submitted by ilke Homes.

Highly Commended: Manchester EBN School Programme of Works. Entry submitted by Premier Modular Limited.

Preservation and Rejuvenation

Sponsored by Faithful+Gould

Winner: St Vincent’s Place, Sheffield. Entry submitted by Bowmer + Kirkland Ltd.

Highly Commended: Sandhurst Block, Bourlon Barracks, Catterick. Entry submitted by Ministry of Defence (Army).

SME of the Year

Sponsored by YORhub.

Winner: BIM-UK Ltd

Highly Commended 1: Adept Consulting Engineering Limited

Highly Commended 2: Priestley Construction


Sponsored by Leeds Sustainability Institute

Winner: Thermal Upgrading Works – Easton Road Estate Bridlington. Entry submitted by Hobson & Porter.

Highly Commended: Springwell Leeds SEMH Schools and Interserve. Entry submitted by Interserve Construction.


Digital Construction

Sponsored by Trimble Tekla.

Winner: Adept’s success through BIM. Entry submitted by Adept Consulting Engineers Ltd

Highly Commended: Mount Oswald, Durham University. Entry submitted by Curtins


People Development

Sponsored by Applebridge Construction Ltd

Winner: ENGIE (Learning and Development). Entry submitted by ENGIE.

Highly Commended: Innovation Fire Engineering Ltd


Sponsored by Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)

Winner: Runswick Bay Coastal Defence Scheme. Entry submitted by Scarborough Borough Council.

Highly Commended: ARC Eaves Insulator. Entry submitted by ARC Building Solutions.

Project of the Year – Civil Engineering

Sponsored by Gosschalks


Winner: A-one+ M1 J39 Noise Reduction Project. Entry submitted by A-one+

Highly Commended: West Yorkshire-plus Transport fund – A629 Salterhebble to Shaw Hill. Entry submitted by Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council.



Winner: The Foss Barrier: Road to Recovery. Entry submitted by JBA Bentley.

Highly Commended: Hornsea Onshore Substation – HOW01. Entry submitted by Balfour Beatty.


Project of the Year – Buildings

Sponsored by Innovation Fire Engineering



Winner: St John’s Market, Scunthorpe. Entry submitted by Interserve Construction.

Highly Commended: University Centre, Rotherham. Entry submitted by Bond Bryan.



Winner: University of Huddersfield Barbara Hepworth Building. Entry submitted by Morgan Sindall Construction & Infrastructure.

Highly Commended: Symons House Leeds. Entry submitted by Faithful+Gould.

Best of the Best

Sponsored by the Yorkshire and Humber Constructing Excellence Club.

Winner: Springwell Leeds SEMH Schools and Interserve. Entry submitted by Interserve Construction.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award was presented to John Lorimer, Director of JLO Innovation and long time member of Constructing Excellence sitting on numerous boards and working groups.